Guest Blog – Simon Bradeley

This week, we hear from Former Guinness World Record Holder and personal trainer Simon Bradeley, who explains why body composition monitoring helps to keep him motivated and understand his body better.

simon bradeley

When you sign up for your first challenge the last thing you think about is your current body composition, or even appreciate what a difference your body composition can make to your results. But you’d be surprised!

Benchmarks and reference points are important with any form of training or diet. Monitoring body composition is one of the most useful ways of measuring the success of your plan and the effectiveness of your training; motivating you to continue your excellent progress, and helping you to understand the changes your body is undergoing.

I’m actually a bit of a technology and data addict, and I measure my own body composition weekly with my trusty Tanita BC-1000. I have around three years worth of date stored on my PC and on the Garmin Connect software, which is a fantastic way of tracking my long-term progress. This is especially helpful when I am preparing for a particular event or goal. It always amazes me the regular patterns that my body composition undergoes throughout the year. My body fat will always increase by around 10% during the festive period and through to January, but then decreases as I step up my training in Spring.

Body composition monitoring caters for the individual, so it is important to understand what shape and condition you are in currently, to allow you to set yourself targets and see how your condition compares to recommended healthy levels of body fat and body water.

So it’s time to set yourself some goals, and let body composition monitoring help you reach them.

Leave a comment