Guest Blog- Ste Smith- Manchester 100 Mile Cycle

Stephen Smith is 30 years old from Preston, Lancashire and an eCommerce Manager for Scalesexpress. He is training for the Manchester 100 Mile Cycling Challenge in September. This week, we catch up with him as our guest blogger to see how his training is going.

SONY DSC

“I’ve always had a competitive spirit and enjoyed taking part in sporting challenges. After completing the Manchester to Blackpool 60 miles bike ride in 2011, I caught the ‘challenge bug’, and immediately started looking for my next big event.

My little boy kept me on my toes throughout 2012, which meant my training was put on hold until this year, as I signed up for the 100 mile cycling challenge. It seemed a logical next step to go for 100 miles, and a great way to stay fit. Having an event to aim for means that I’m more committed to going out cycling every week, and commitment ultimately gives results.

I started training in January when it was very cold, and unsurprisingly not particularly enjoyable! However, I have persevered and since then have been going out on the bike around the forest of Bowland and Fylde area almost every Sunday. I’m conscious not to miss out on any family time at the weekends, so I stick to a 3 / 4 hour ride starting at 10 miles and going up to 40. I want to push myself and see how far I can get, so I’ll be increasing my training to full day rides soon! The next step is 80 miles…

As a result of my training, I’ve lost a few pounds and I’ve noticed my arms are slightly larger, but the best thing is that I feel so much healthier! I’m not a fan of diets and I tend to eat fairly balanced meals with a portion of meat and vegetables. I ‘cancel’ out any fast food or naughty treats with a good cycle at the weekend so I still get to enjoy myself.

I’m hoping for a race time of around 7-8 hours, based on an average speed of about 13 mph. Hopefully I’ll have some faster miles too which will make it even quicker. I’m loving the training so far and can’t wait for the big day in September. ”

Stephen is raising money for The Christie which raises funds to help provide services and undertake vital research for cancer patients. It is one of Europe’s leading cancer centers, treating more than 40,000 patients a year. To find out more or sponsor Stephen, visit his Just Giving page: http://www.justgiving.com/Ste-Manc100

Keep updated with Stephen’s progress via the Tanita Community; we’re sure you’ll join us in wishing Stephen good luck with his training and on the race day itself!

Leave a comment